The Thing ¬ DVD

At an Antarctica research site, the discovery of an alien craft leads to a confrontation between graduate student Kate Lloyd and scientist Dr. Sander Halvorson. While Dr. Halvorson keeps to his research, Kate partners with Sam Carter, a helicopter pilot, to pursue the alien life form.

The Thing is an upcoming science fiction horror film directed by Matthijs van Heijningen Jr., written by Eric Heisserer, and starring Mary Elizabeth Winstead and Joel Edgerton in the lead roles. It is a prequel to the 1982 John Carpenter film of the same name. Matthijs’s film will take place right before the first film, following the exploits of the Norwegian and American scientists who originally discovered the alien.

Now, given that everyone involved in the film as insisted that it’s a prequel rather than a remake of Carpenter’s 1982 classic, it’s remarkable just how similar the two films looks.

As you’re no doubt already aware, The Thing 2011 is set in the Norwegian camp briefly seen at the start of the 1982 movie. Mary Elizabeth Winstead is the film’s star, which makes for an interesting departure from Kurt Russell’s alpha male lead in the original. Joel Edgerton, meanwhile, plays what could be described as the role previously filled by Russell. He plays a grizzled helicopter pilot, just like Russell’s character, MacReady.

As for the rest of the cast, we have Ulrich Thomsen (whom you may have seen as a henchman in The World Is Not Enough), Lost’s Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, who plays a character by the name of Derek Jameson, and an assortment of Norwegian character actors, including Stig Henrik Hoff and Jørgen Langhelle.

Just like the original novella, Who Goes There?, and Carpenter’s adaptation, the film sees this eclectic cast encounter a thawed-out, shape-shifting alien in the icy wastes of Antarctica.

Genre: Horror, Mystery, Science Fiction
Actors: Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Eric Christian Olsen, Joel Edgerton, Adewale Akinnuoye-agbaje, Ulrich Thomsen, Kim Bubbs, Trond Espen Seim, Stig Henrik Hoff, Jonathan Walker, Carsten Bjørnlund, Davetta Sherwood, Jorgen Langhelle, Jan Gunnar Roise, Kristofer Hivju
Director: Matthijs Van Heijningen Jr.
Producers: Marc Abraham, Eric Newman
Writers: John W. Campbell Jr., Eric Heisserer, Ronald D. Moore

Comments are closed.